SECAmb staff, volunteers and members of the public have been recognised for their long service and achievements at the first of the Trust’s annual awards ceremonies.

The ceremony, the first of three to be held across the Trust’s region, was held on Thursday 27 February at The Orangery, Turkey Mill, Maidstone, Kent.

Staff and volunteers were recognised for a combined total of more than 800 years’ service while Chief Executive Commendations were presented across a number of categories including Clinical Excellence and Quality Improvement, Demonstrating Compassion and Respect, and Leadership.

Deputy Lieutenant of Kent, Dr Bhargawa Vasudaven, attended to present Queen’s Long Service and Good Conduct medals as the Queen’s representative, while staff were also recognised for 20, 30 and 40 years’ NHS service. Volunteer community first responders celebrated 10 years’ service while three of the Trust’s chaplains were thanked for 20 years’ voluntary service. The longest serving paramedic to be recognised on the night was Dartford’s Ann Copson. Ann, who completed her final shift before retiring on the day of the awards, was recognised for a total of 41 years’ service.

Those presented with Chief Executive Commendations included an ambulance team who demonstrated excellent clinical skill by delivering an astonishing 21 shocks to save the life of Tunbridge Wells man, Peter Collins’. Peter and fiancée Chris were reunited with the Paddock Wood team on the night.

Elsewhere, Deal teenager, Emma Boughton, was recognised for her efforts in attempting to save the life of a neighbour who had collapsed on a flat roof and paramedic Chris Fuller for the leadership qualities he showed when attending a serious assault in Maidstone last summer.

In a new category introduced this year, the People’s Hero Award, members of the public nominated a SECAmb member of staff for special recognition. Hastings paramedic, Amanda Paine, picked up the inaugural award, for her actions in performing CPR on local man Dave Lee, when off duty at a restaurant celebrating her wedding the day before.

SECAmb Chief Executive Philip Astle said: “I was delighted to attend the first of our awards ceremonies and congratulate such a variety of worthy commendation winners as well as staff and volunteers being recognised for their long service.

“This was the first SECAmb awards ceremony I have attended since joining the Trust as chief executive and I am extremely proud of the hugely talented and committed staff who work for SECAmb.

“I would also like to pay tribute to the public we have recognised. They should all be very proud of their actions in saving lives.

“Of course, these awards showcase just a small number of examples of the amazing work which goes on across our region every day and I would like to thank all our staff for their professionalism and commitment to communities across our region day-in, day-out.”

Details of every award winner can be found below.

Chief Executive Commendations

Clinical Excellence and Quality Improvement:

Paul Stocker – Hazardous Area Response Team, (HART), paramedic Paul, saved hundreds of hours by producing an online automated app-based system for vehicle checking, inspection and fault reporting on the Trust’s HART vehicles.

Clinical Excellence and Quality Improvement:

Emma Strangleman, Leanne Adams, Robert Smith, Alexander Smith, Stuart Plumbley, Gary Balderston, Stefani Sukoska – For their persistence and clinical skill in saving the life of Tunbridge Wells man Peter Collins which saw them deliver a total of 21 shocks with a defibrillator.

Demonstrating Compassion:

Thanet team, Hollie Finch, Charlie Kennett, Adam Watts, Andy McBride, David Latham – For their efforts as a team to help a distressed child who had very complex health needs.


Chris Fuller – For the leadership qualities he showed when attending a serious assault in Maidstone last summer.


Sean Daisy – For his leadership skills in his work in the integration of the Trust’s 111, 999 and urgent care services.

Public commendation:

Emma Boughton – Deal teenager Emma, was recognised for her efforts in attempting to save the life of a neighbour who had collapsed on a flat roof. She was aged just 14 at the time.

People’s Hero Award:

Amanda Paine – For saving the life of Hastings man Dave Lee by performing CPR when off duty at a restaurant celebrating her wedding a day earlier.

Queen’s Ambulance Service medals for Long Service & Good conduct (20 years) were presented to:

Victoria Coulling – Medway

Rachel Barton – Ashford

Karen Downie – Coxheath EOC

Paul Eldridge – Ashford

Ann Holt – Medway

Emma Howard – Isle of Sheppey

David McQuillan – Ashford

Edward Pearson – Ashford

Lewis Price – Thanet

Angie Rogers – Medway

Gavin Thompson – Dartford

Stephan Tucker – Ashford

Peter Waterman – Sittingbourne

20 years’ NHS Long Service medals

Jo Russell – Thanet

Adriano Serrecchia – Wadhurst

Kathryn Spratling – Medway

30 years’ NHS Long Service Award:

Chris Billett – Paddock Wood

Kim Broad – Dartford

Andy Davis – Paddock Wood (retired)

Mark Harrison – Whitstable

John Lynn – Dartford

Sue Orchard – Herne Bay

Andrew Smith – Ashford

Nicholas Wakefield – Ashford

Frances Ward – Ashford

Michaela Young – Thanet

40 years’ NHS Long Service Award:

Anne Copson – Dartford

Volunteer’s 10 Years’ Long Service Award

Gareth Aldridge, CFR – Folkestone

Steve Joyce, CFR – Hoo and Cliffe

Anthony Mogridge, CFR – Faversham

Barbara Muir, CFR – Snodland

Volunteer’s 20 Years’ Long Service Award

Reverend Paul Fermor – Deal

Reverend David Jones – Maidstone

Reverend Donald Lugg – Whitstable