Skip to content

Ambulance staff and volunteer achievements celebrated

12 March 2018

Award winnerThe achievements of South East Coast Ambulance Service (SECAmb) staff and volunteers have been celebrated at the second of the Trust’s annual awards ceremonies.

The ceremony, for the west of SECAmb’s region, was held on Thursday 8 March at Woodlands Park Hotel near Cobham, Surrey.

Staff and volunteers were recognised for long service and Chief Executive’s Commendations were awarded across a range of categories including clinical excellence, patient care and leadership.

Vice Lord Lieutenant of Surrey, Bill Biddell, attended as the Queen’s representative to present the Queen’s Long Service and Good Conduct medals, while staff were also recognised for 20 and 30 years’ NHS service. Between them, staff celebrated for more than 800 years’ service.

Volunteers receiving awards included Fleet and Church Crookham Community First Responder Alan Smart who has responded to more than 2,000 emergencies since becoming a CFR in 2013.

Employee of the Year went to West Sussex Operations Manager Andy Pattison, for his hard work developing a trauma management scheme which provides peer-to-peer support to staff potentially at risk of post-traumatic stress.

And there was an emotional reunion for the Team of the Year – a group of staff from across the region – which celebrated alongside the 15-year-old boy whose life they saved after he suffered a cardiac arrest. Charlie Thurston, from Forest Row, East Sussex, attended the ceremony with his parents having made an amazing recovery following his collapse.

SECAmb Chief Executive Daren Mochrie said: “I was very proud to join our staff and volunteers to celebrate their success. These awards showcase the long service, clinical skill, bravery and commitment which takes place across our region every day. It is vital we celebrate and reward achievement and the award winners represent just a small percentage of the amazing work I know goes on day-in, day-out within SECAmb. Well done and thank you to all our staff and volunteers for everything they do for our patients and each other.”

Details of every award winner can be found below – for further information on each award, please see the awards booklet which can be found here -

Chief Executive Commendations

Above and beyond the call of duty – Jacek Sokulski, Operational Team Leader, Ashford, Kent; Lauren Morris, Emergency Care Support Worker, Ashford, Kent; Pete Owen, Critical Care Paramedic, Ashford, Kent; Gareth Harris and Alex Bourne, Ambulance Technicians, UK Specialist Ambulance Service – For their quick-thinking and actions which thwarted an attempted robbery at the Trust’s Ashford Make Ready Centre and led to the conviction of a group who had been stealing medical equipment across Kent.

Above and beyond the call of duty – Alan Deakin, Student Paramedic, Brighton – For his work in ensuring better support and treatment for homeless people in Brighton. Alan has been working tirelessly, joining up with other agencies and crews to improve the service we provide to his vulnerable group of people.

Outstanding Patient Care – Kirk Collison, Emergency Medical Advisor, Crawley EOC – For his calmness and professionalism despite his own recent personal tragedy in providing excellent care and advice to a woman whose baby had been born at home prematurely and not breathing.

Leadership – Tom Pullen, Specialist Paramedic and IBIS Manager, Crawley – For his role in championing the Trust’s IBIS system both internally and externally and driving forward innovation in developing patient care.

Leadership – Tim Magson, Paramedic and HART Training Manager, Crawley – For his commitment to his role including the development of a Hazardous Area Response Team (HART) training course which is now seen as a benchmark for other ambulance services to follow.

Leadership – Angela Rayner – Head of Inclusion and Wellbeing, Crawley – For her efforts working tirelessly to improve the wellbeing provision for staff across SECAmb by developing a wellbeing strategy and the establishment of the Trust’s Wellbeing Hub.

Voluntary and Community Service – Alan Smart, Community First Responder, Fleet and Church Crookham – For his dedication to his role as a CFR. Since becoming a CFR in 2013, Alan has responded to some 2,000 emergencies and has been involved in a number of successful resuscitations. During a hot spell last summer, Alan went the extra mile keeping a stock of cold drinks in his car to hand out to ambulance crews.

Employee of the Year – Andrew Pattison, Operations Manager, West Sussex – For his hard work and commitment to developing a trauma management scheme in SECAmb which provides peer-to-peer support to staff potentially at risk of post-traumatic stress.

Team of the Year – Helen Flynn, Horley; Claire Brewer, Horley; Cheryl Laflain, Horley; Nicole LeCroisette, Dorking; Jonathan Fisher, Dartford; Charlotte Davis, Coxheath EOC; Sam Taylor, Charlie Leahy, KMSS Air Ambulance; Jess Garland, KMSS Air Ambulance; Tony Hudson, Consultant, St George’s Hospital – For their team work and expert treatment to save the life of a 15-year-old boy who suffered a cardiac arrest at home. The team work delivered from the moment the 999 call was made, at the scene and also at hospital, ensured the young man was able to spend Christmas with his family and has a great future.

Queen’s Ambulance Service medals for Long Service & Good conduct (20 years):

David Lovett, Gatwick MRC

Eileen Smith, Godalming

Hazel Farlow, Godalming

Jonathan Keenes, Farnborough

Kevin Wheat, Gatwick MRC

Lesley Stewart, Redhill

Paula McKeough-Lea, Gatwick MRC

Katie McNeil, Haywards Heath

Stephen Offer, Tangmere

Zena Heywood, Chertsey

20 years NHS Long Service medals:

Jennifer Bleach, Gatwick MRC

Kate Buche, Polegate

Michelle Moore, Tangmere

Michelle Thompson, Crawley EOC

Richard Orme, Chertsey

Susie Thum, Gatwick MRC

Vera Stocker, Gatwick MRC

30 years NHS Long Service Award:

Debbie Maynard, Crawley ECO

Desmond Eveleigh, Gatwick MRC

Jane Lupton, Polegate

John Reed, Redhill

Katrina Vickery, Farnborough

Mark Lilley, Worthing

Peter Hogg, Crawley EOC

Peter Vallance, Epsom

Phil Marsh, Gatwick MRC

Russell Kempton, Worthing

Sue Lawson, Retired, Brighton

Tim Gorringe, Lewes/Crawley HQ

Volunteer’s 10 years Long Service Award

Mark Townsend, CFR, Aylesham, Kent

Paul Berry, CFR, Billingshurst

Paula Davis, CFR, Horsham

Heather Kingdon, CFR, Partridge Green

Tessa Weaver, CFR, Godalming

Craig Chitty, CFR, Effingham

Bookmark and Share