Skip to content

Ambulance staff, volunteers and public gather to celebrate achievements

SECAMB Awards27 February 2017

South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS staff were joined by volunteers and members of the public at the first of the Trust’s annual award ceremonies.

The ceremony, for the east of SECAmb’s region, was held on Thursday 23 February at The Orangery at Turkey Mill, Maidstone, Kent.

Awards Night 2017 East

The event saw staff recognised for long service and Chief Executive’s Commendations awarded across a range of categories including clinical excellence, patient care and leadership.

The Deputy Lieutenant of Kent, Bill Cockcroft, attended as the Queen’s representative to present Queen’s Medals for Long Service and Good Conduct, while Trust staff were also recognised for 20 years’ and 30 and 40 years’ NHS service. Between them staff recognised for long service have provided some 800 years’ service. Volunteers receiving awards included husband and wife Julie and John Croft from Caterham who were recognised for their dedication over 10 years as voluntary car drivers for the Trust.

Also among the award winners were a team of Kent staff recognised for their clinical excellence in delivering and then saving the life of a baby girl who was born in the breech position and in respiratory arrest. Now nine months old and meeting all her developmental milestones, little baby Sienna from Sheerness, surprised the staff at the event as she and her family, mum and dad Suzanne and Jake Ryan, along with big sister River, joined the celebrations.

Ashford NHS 111 Health Advisor Helen Sivyer was recognised for her quick thinking in realising over the phone that a patient was agonal breathing - a sign they could be going into cardiac arrest.

The Trust’s Thanet Chaplain, volunteer Donald Lugg was awarded for his dedication in supporting staff, while Team of the Year went to the medical response team at Brighton and Hove Albion Amex Community Stadium. The team made up of SECAmb, St John and Albion staff provides outstanding medical support at the club’s home games and have successfully resuscitated four out of four people who have suffered cardiac arrests at or very near to the stadium.

SECAmb Acting Chief Executive Geraint Davies said: “These awards show the amazing work which is going on day in day out at SECAmb. It was an honour to present the commendations and the long service awards are always very humbling. I am immensely proud of the dedication, clinical skill and patient care shown by all our staff and volunteers.”

Details of every award winner can be found below – for further information on each award please see the awards booklet.

Chief Executive Commendations



Clinical Excellence – Alexandra Hemsley - Paramedic Medway, Mary Cutts - Associate Practitioner Medway, Jerry Russell - Technician Sheppey, Paul Waghorn – Technician Sittingbourne, Laura Wren – Dispatcher Coxheath EOC – For their actions in delivering and then saving the life of a baby girl from Sheerness who was born in the breech position.

Clinical Excellence – Madeleine Howley – Ambulance Technician, Ashford, Julia Gasking – Paramedic, Ashford, John Sweeney - Clinical Team Leader, Ashford, Nick Harrison – Critical Care Paramedic, Paddock Wood, Mick Carter – Critical Care Paramedic, Gatwick -  For their clinical excellence in treating a man who had been stabbed outside a pub in Ashford.

Outstanding Patient Care – Helen Sivyer, NHS 111 Health Advisor, Ashford - recognised for her quick thinking in realising over the phone that a patient was agonal breathing a sign they could be going into cardiac arrest.

Outstanding Patient Care – David Latham – Clinical Team Leader, Thanet, Jennifer Hood – Technician, Thanet, Natalie Spain – Paramedic, Thanet, Lindsey Wretham – ECSW, Thanet, Richard Harker – Clinical Operations Manager, Thanet, Dave Hawkins – Critical Care Paramedic, Thanet, Caitlin Scaife – Paramedic Thanet, Gary Evans – Clinical Team Leader, Thanet – For their efforts attempting to save the life of a teenage boy who had been struck by a car in Westgate-on-sea. Despite their efforts he sadly died in hospital.

Outstanding Patient Care – Rebecca Wicks, Emergency Medical Advisor, Lewes EOC – For providing excellent CPR instructions over the phone when a 17-year-old girl went into cardiac arrest.

Outstanding Patient Care – Michele Harvey – Associate Practitioner Medway and Michelle Dziedzic – Technician Medway – for their quick thinking and treatment in saving the life of a man who they established was suffering from life-threatening anaphylaxis.

Leadership – Jo Crerar – Operational Unit Manager - for her efforts and dedication in leading by example, maintaining high standards and developing staff teams at Ashford Make Ready Centre.

Leadership – Ian Heskett, Clinical Team Leader, Paddock Wood Make Ready Centre – for his leadership skills in acting as the Trust’s lead for preparing for major roadworks taking place on the A21 and Maidstone gyratory.

Voluntary or Community Service – Donald Lugg, Chaplain, Thanet Make Ready Centre – For his dedication in providing voluntary support and care to Trust staff in Thanet.

Voluntary or Community Service – Sam Carter, Rother Community First Responders, – For his ongoing commitment and his role in responding to the tragic events at Camber Sands last summer.

Team of the Year – Medical response team, Amex Community Stadium, Brighton – To the SECAmb, St John and Brighton and Hove Albion team for providing outstanding medical support at the club’s home games and for successfully resuscitating four out of four people who have suffered cardiac arrests at or very near to the stadium.

Queen’s Ambulance Service medals for Long Service & Good conduct were presented to:

  • Jane Brown, Ambulance Technician, Ashford, Kent
  • Roy Cavey, Paramedic, Paddock Wood
  • Bryan Hopperton, Paramedic, Ashford, Kent
  • Lisa Masey, Clinical Team Leader, Ashford, Kent
  • Paul Moorhouse, Paramedic Practitioner, Beckenham, Kent
  • Julie Ormrod, Paramedic Practitioner, Coxheath
  • Katherine O’Connor, Paramedic Dartford
  • Andy Pascoe, Clinical Team Leader, Hastings
  • Robin Scott, Clinical Team Leader, Eastbourne
  • Barbara Sharville, Paramedic, Redhill
  • Richard Steinbeck, Paramedic, Thanet
  • Simon Trafford, Ambulance Technician, Medway
  • Susan Tugwell, Clinical Operations Manager, Walton, Surrey
  • Suzanne Wareham, Paramedic, Medway
  • Emma Webber, Paramedic Practitioner, Coxheath
  • Amanda Williams, Ambulance Technician, Dartford


20 years NHS Long Service medals (for staff not eligible to receive Queen’s Medal)

  • Sandra Gower, Emergency Medical Advisor, Coxheath
  • Mark Lamble, Lewes Emergency Operations Centre
  • Ted Sohanpal, Fleet department, Medway


30 years NHS Long Service Award:

  • Kelvin Dixon, Advanced Ambulance Technician, Thanet
  • Steve Drowley, Paramedic, Hastings
  • Paul Everest, Paramedic, Hastings
  • Kevin McSweeney, Paramedic, Thanet
  • Steve Rose, Paramedic, Pembury
  • Graham Smith, Paramedic, Thanet
  • Sally Smith, Lewes Emergency Operations Centre


40 years NHS Long Service Award:

  • Philip Lyons, Retired Ambulance Technician, Newhaven
  • John McCafferty, Paramedic, Ashford


Volunteer Car Drivers’ 10 years Long Service Award

  • Julie Croft, Caterham, Surrey
  • John Croft, Caterham, Surrey


Full details of ALL winners at both events can be found in the Awards page in Our Successes.

Bookmark and Share